Traditional Program News

Silver Lake College Concert on April 4 Showcases Acclaimed Pianists

Posted on March 28 2014

Silver Lake College will conclude its 2013-14 Artist Music Series season with a concert by acclaimed pianists Diana Shapiro and Stanislava Varshavski.

The duo will perform April 4 at 7:30 p.m. in Endries Hall, located in the new Franciscan Center for Music Education and Performance at Silver Lake College, 2406 S. Alverno Road.

Shapiro, who joined the faculty at Silver Lake College in 2012, and Varshavski are both natives of Russia. They met at the Jerusalem Academy of Music and Dance and have been honored at piano events around the world. Some of those highlights include:

  • 2012 – Winners of Astral Artists’ National Auditions in Philadelphia
  • 2008 – Career Grant from “Salon De Virtuosi” in New York
  • 2005 – Winners of the Murray Dranoff International Two Piano Competition in Miami; it’s the world’s biggest event for piano duos
  • 2004 – Grand Prize Winner in two pianos section and First Prize in one piano four hands section at the Piano Competition “Rome 2004” in Rome, Italy
  • 2004 – First Prize at the “Kol HaMusica” Young Artists Competition in Jerusalem, Israel
  • 2003 – First Prize at the 13th Schubert Competition in Jesenik, Czech Republic
  • 2000 – First Prize at the Israel Chamber Music Competition in Jerusalem, Israel
  • 2000 – First Prize at the Sharon Tabor-Fintz Competition (performed with an orchestra) in Jerusalem, Israel
  • 2000 – Top 5 at the ARD Competition in Munich, Germany
  • 1999 – First Prize (and two special prizes) at the International Piano Duo Competition in Bialystok, Poland

Varshavski and Shapiro have participated in international festivals and solo recitals in the Czech Republic, Germany, Hong Kong, Israel, Italy, Poland, Russia and throughout the United States.

They also appeared with a number of well-known orchestras, such as the Radio Orchestra in Munich, Israel Chamber Orchestra, Jerusalem Symphony Orchestra, Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra, Novosibirsk Philharmonic Orchestra, Moravian Chamber Orchestra and “New World” Symphony Orchestra of Miami, as well as the Manitowoc Symphony Orchestra and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Chamber Orchestra.